817 SW Harrison, Topeka, KS 66612  785-233-9601


Session of Elders

First Presbyterian, in accordance with PC(USA) procedure, is governed by a Session of Elders. The Elders are elected and ordained by the congregation to serve as representatives for the church. 

First Presbyterian Church of Topeka
Session of Elders
Sandra Brown; Clerk of Session: Melanie McQuere; Treasurer: Roger Basinger; Commissioned Associate Pastor: Pat Yancey

Class of 2023
Beth Johnston
Leah Gabler-Marshall
Walter Menninger
Melissa Renick

Class of 2024
John Conlee
John Dorsey
Jerry Foster
Anita Jacoby

Class of 2025
Herman Jones
Bill Nichols
Jim Owen
Norma Pettijohn


The Deacons at First Presbyterian are charged with ministries of care, witness and service by participating in activities that provide one-on-one contact, prayer, and fellowship. They provide support and Christian love by communicating with members regularly to build community, share church information, ascertain needs, and lend support and assistance.

First Presbyterian Church of Topeka
Jeff Gustin; Vice Moderator: John Gould; Secretary: Hank Ernst

Class of 2023
Pam Carmichael
John Gould
Jeff Gustin
Claudia Perney
Warren Watson

Class of 2024
Andrea Conlee
Hank Ernst
Jason Fish
Gayle Hunter
Julie Jensen

Class of 2025
Susan Frydrych Palmer
Julie Lady
Linda Mets
Kathy Pauls
Susan Rowell